Top races in Collin County Texas Elections, November 2, 2010

This November 2nd (Tuesday) are the “mid-term” elections across the US. In Texas, Straight Party voting includes the Republican, Democratic, Libertarian, and Green parties. In Collin County there are a lot of important races that will help determine the future of Texas; a typically strong Republican state, but early voting results suggest the democrats may be gaining momentum.
The following are specific county wide contests. Click here for a complete list of sample ballots and to find your voting location by precinct.
Also check out the Libery Institutes Free Voters Guide.
Gubernatorial Candidates:
Rick Perry – Republican Incumbent
Bill White – Former Mayor of Huston – Democrat
Kathie Glass – LP
Deb Shafto – Green Party
Write-in Candidate(s)
Lieutenant Governor:
David Dewhurst – Republican incumbent
Linda Chavez-Thompson – Democrat
Scott Jameson – LP
Herb Gonzales, Jr. – Green Party
U.S. Representative District 3:
Sam Johnson – – Republican Incumbent
John Lingenfelder – Democrat
Christopher J. Claytor – LP
Write-in Candidate(s)
U.S. Representative, District 4:
Ralph M. Hall – – Republican Incumbent and longest standing U.S. Representative.
VaLinda Hathcox – Democrat
Jim D. Prindle – LP
Shane Shepard – independent
Attorney General:
Greg Abbot – – Republican Incumbent
Barbara Ann Radnofsky – – Democrat
Jon Roland – LP
Comptroller of Public Accounts:
Susan Combs – Republican Incumbent
Mary J. Ruwart – LP
Edward Lindsay – Green Party
Commissioner of the General Land Office:
Jerry Patterson – Republican Incumbent
Hector Uribe – Democrat
James L. Holdar – Libertarian Party (hard to find information one – wonder how serious he is about this race).
Commissioner of Agriculture:
Todd Staples –,1968,1848_1944_0_0,00.html?channelId=1944 – Republican Incumbent
Hank Gilbert – Democrat
Rick Donaldson – LP
Railroad Commissioner:
David Porter – Republican Nominee (unseated the incumbent).
Jeff Weems – Democrat
Roger Gary – LP
Art Browning – LP
Justice, Supreme Court, Place 3:
Debra Lehrmann – Republican – appointed June 21, 2010 by Governor Rick Perry to replace Harriet O’Neill
Jim Sharp – , Democrat
William Bryan Strange, III – LP
Justice, Supreme Court, Place 5:
Paul Green – Republican Incumbent
Bill Moody – Democrat
Tom Oxford – LP
Justice, Supreme Court, Place 9:
Eva Guzman – Republican Incumbent
Blake Bailey – Democrat
Jack Armstrong – LP
Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 2:
Lawrence “Larry” Meyers – Republican Incumbent
J. Randell Stevens – LP
Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 5:
Cheryl Johnson – – Incumbent
Dave Howard – – LP
Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 6:
Michael E. Keasler – Republican Incumbent
Keith Hampton – Democrat
Robert Ravee Virasin – LP
Justice 5th Court of Appeals District, Place 4:
Lana Myers – Replication Incumbent
Bonnie Lee Goldstein – Democrat
Justice, 5th Court of Appeals District, Place 12, Unexpired Term:
Robert M. (Bob) Fillmore – Republican Incumbent
Lawrence J. Praeger – Democrat
Criminal District Attorney:
Currently John R. Roach not running for re-election.
Greg Willis – Republican
Rafael De La Garza II – Democrat
County Judge:
Keith Self –
David M. Smith –
Judge, County Court at Law Number 3:
Lance S. Baxter – Republican
Sajeel S. Khaleel –… Democrat
Justice of the Peace, Precinct No. 3, Place 2:
John E. Payton – Republican incumbent
Rey V. Flores – Democrat
District Clerk:
Patricia Crigger –
Write-in Candidate(s)
Member, State Board of Education, District 9:
Thomas Ratliff – Republican
Jeff McGee – LP
Paul Cardwell – Green Party
State Senator, District 8:
Florence Shapiro – Republican Incumbent
Ed Kless – LP
Texas State Board of Education, District 12:
George Clayton – Republican
Amy Parsons – LP
There are also a lot of State Representative’s running un-apposed, and other more local candidates. Check ou the Voter guide from the Liberty Institute.
Who will I vote for?
Probably a mix of Libertarian Party (those who actually have web-site with good information on them), and Republicans. However, for the first time I’m finding myself interested in a Democrat. Bill White… Why? Take a look at Huston; even Glen Becks “An inconvenient Book” talks a lot about some of the positive points for Huston that potentially could be at least partially thanks to Bill White.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.